Your browser does not support JavaScript!
College of Humanities and Social Sciences

A Brief History of the college


The College of Humanities and Social Sciences was established in 1984, the fourth academic college at National Tsing Hua University. The college promotes interdisciplinary collaboration among humanities and social sciences, is currently composed of three undergraduate departments and programs and eight graduate institutes. We encourage our faculty to conduct advanced forefront researches as well as to engage in all kinds of activities to further develop our society.

The college aims to cultivate future leaders in the field of humanities and social sciences, emphasizing theory and practice. We therefore assist our students to think globally, to develop a team work spirit, and to live with passion, responsibility and dependability.



Dean's Office


Dean   Shu-min Huang

Secretary   Li-mei Sun




Interdisciplinary Program of Humanities and Social Sciences

Department of Chinese Literature

Department of Foreign Languages and Literature

Institute of Philosophy

Institute of History

Institute of Anthropology

Institute of Sociology

Institute of Linguistics

Institute of Taiwan Literature

Graduate Program on Taiwan Studies

International Master's Program in Inter-Asia Cultural Studies(University System of Taiwan)

No. of visitors